For the love of…baking!

Hello all!

My name is Sonia, and…here it goes…I must admit, that I have developed a baking addiction! Over the past year, it has become somewhat of a hobby of mine. Whether it be to treat myself after a long day, or if I have some spare time and feel like making some goodies for my room mates… I just absolutely love being able  to make something new and trying new recipes. And since I’ve always had somewhat of a sweet tooth…I guess it makes sense why I enjoy baking so much!

Recently, my younger sister also began to bake…on a weekly basis even! She has been making different things every week, from cookies, to brownies, to tarts, and it’s become quickly apparent that we have both become bake-a-holics!

So since this is my first post I will leave you with a little something for you to try! Black Bean S’mores Brownies! (I promise, you wont even notice the beans!)


Black Bean S’mores Brownies

 

INGREDIENTS

1 15oz can of black beans

3 eggs

3 tbsp vegetable oil

6 tbsp cocoa powder

1 pinch salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 cup chocolate chips

3/4 cup graham cracker crumbs

2 cups of marshmallows

 

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  2. Drain and rinse the black beans, and place in either a blender or a food processor until pureed.
  3. In the same blender or food processor, add the eggs, vegetable oil, cocoa powder, salt, baking powder, baking soda, vanilla extract, and sugar.
  4. Lightly grease a 9×9 inch baking pan and pour brownie batter evenly into the pan.
  5. Sprinkle chocolate chips on top, evenly distributing them throughout the pan. Sprinkle 1/2 a cup of graham cracker crumbs on top of the chocolate chip layer as well.
  6. Bake for 25 minutes.
  7. Remove brownies from oven, and place the marshmallows evenly on top. Sprinkle the remaining 1/4 cup of graham crackers on top and then place back in the oven for approximately 5-7 minutes more (for a total cook time of about 30 minutes).
  8. Allow brownies to cool before cutting into squares…and then…enjoy!

 

Recipe adapted from Food.com

Leave a Reply

